I Used to be A Morning Person

Believe it or not, i used to be a morning person.

I actually LOVED being a morning person. Those early hours just had so much promise and there were so many possibilities. I LOVED that I felt on top of things and not like I needed to still wake up and catch up to everything around me. One of my most favourite things is watching the sun rise. It’s like getting a peck on the cheek straight from God. There is simply no better pleasure. I liked feeling that I wasn’t having to “fall in” with everyone who was already in the swing of their day and it always felt like I had a lot more control. Probably psychological but still.

I was essentially forced to become a night owl and I have to say that I LOVE being a night owl. I am excellent at it. hehehe..  The silence just does it for me and I get this wave of energy and I literally feel like I can conquer the world!.

As much as I LOVE being a night owl, there are a number of problems with this, the main one being that I need AT LEAST 8 hours of sleep in order to be effective  during the day. I simply don’t have the luxury of sleeping in until I have my 8 hours.

I have been doing a lot of thinking about this and I would actually like to go back to being a morning person.  I want to wake up and have quiet time before the day starts – I NEVER have any quiet time otherwise.  I want to wake up and not feel like I still have to catch up to everyone who has been on the go for a few hours already. I want to wake up raring to go and ready for the day. I want to be in control of my day and not have it control me. That’s how it feels when I can’t function in the mornings. Like my day controls me and not the other way around. Does that make sense? I also want to NOT have to rush to get everything done at night.

Now, I know that it’s not going to be easy so I have to think long and hard about how I’m going to shock my body into going the other way.

I would need to change a lot of things at home to manage this process.  I have started by significantly limiting my computer time in the evenings – I’m on for two hour instead of five.

I do get into bed earlier although I don’t sleep until around midnight – I usually read for a few hours. I’d probably need to cut down reading time as well.

I guess, I need to do A LOT more planning so I can actually be lights out by a certain time. Any ideas on how to transition my body clock?uuuuhhh

Are you an owl or a lark?  The change (for me) when I went from lark to owl was completely natural based on various factors in my life. Do you think that one can change from being an owl to a lark?

Leave a Reply

