Should I Stop Expecting From Others?

ef4f8428b89ccec4b4d8533b7a57065d

There is something I have to remind myself on a daily basis. There are going to be people out there who won’t like you. Don’t let it affect you and don’t allow it bring you down. Enjoy the moment and the people who already love you. You don’t have to win everyone over.

Listen, we are not here to live up to each other’s expectations, we are here to live up to our own expectations. I struggle with this. I often find myself expecting people around me to do what I would do, or react the way I would react, in certain situations … and when they don’t, I get frustrated.

But basically, I remind myself of 2 things everyday:
1. Stop expecting perfection. Everyone goofs up.
2. Go ahead and be upset about the mistake, but forgive quickly.

I have been learning a lot of this myself the hard way lately. Expectation is one of the biggest obstacles to our happiness and that of those around us. Without a doubt, though I would say that rather than expecting less of others, we should try and live in the now as much as we can, enjoying everything as it comes and having no expectation (not living in the future). Easier said than done though, but well worth the effort.

As I get older, we can’t please everyone. I don’t want to put that much energy into relationship that is not giving anything back or, worse, taking too much emotionally. Would rather put the extra energy and time to better use. I have spent most of my life trying to change myself and the people around me. I am finally learning how to accept people as they are – to treat them as I want to be treated. But it’s a process.

The funny thing is, most people spend 80% of time worrying about what the other person thinks of them …. But the other person is too worried of what you think of them to notice anything about you! It’s never ending circle.

I am also challenged with my negative feelings and not allowing them to manifest into negative behaviors. It’s so hard!!!

Dear Lord. I cannot do this alone. Please help me remember what I can and cannot control and give me strength to get through today without hurting someone. Aamiin.

 

Your turn …
What do you need to stop expecting from others?

2 thoughts on “Should I Stop Expecting From Others?

  1. nggak gampang memang berhenti berharap2 ini, ya. soale yg namanya berharap kan emang manusiawi banget. meskipun dalam hati udah kita bilang jangan berharap sama manusia, tapi melakukannya nggak semudah mengucapkannya 😀 sering lupa gara2 manusiawi banget itu tadi haha 😀 tapi bagaimanapun tiap hari mesti diusahakan untuk mengurangi kadar2 expecting from others ini 🙂 salam.

Leave a Reply

