Semarang Open 2014 Freestyle Slalom Skating Competition

A dream doesn’t become reality through magic. It takes sweat, determination, and hard work. – Colin Powell

I’m back! finaleeeeh … 😀

Life has been hectic the past few weeks.

So .. let’s talk about my competition 3 weeks ago. I took a part to national competition called Semarang Open 2014. This is an annual event, and this year is the second year that the freestyle slalom competition was held in Semarang. Time goes by way too fast; I still remember last year competition with my team, just like it was yesterday.

The day before competition there was a workshop with the guest star, Yu Jin Seong and Terence Cheung. They are top skater from Korea and Singapore. Here the video … check this out!

Every time I come back to freestyle slalom competition, I enjoy it more and more. I think part of the reason, is because I know what to expect. A couple of things were different this year, or at least seemed like they were.

Even though we went through some difficult times, we will work our hardest for this competition because we know we can do it and we will. I was up at 5 am Saturday morning; excited but I also had nervous butterflies. After 2 month in full on training mode, I’m ready for the competition. I don’t know how many times during a workout I have felt like I was going to barf, pass out, or DIE. But I did not. I kept going. 😀

IMG_4971

I felt nervous. Semarang Open 2014 was a national competition. At this competition, I got nervous, breathing hard, my stomach churning, not being able to eat, and feeling like I had to pee every time I had a chance to cool down.

The participants have got ready for warming up at the venue.

The participants have got ready for warming up at the venue.

I felt great on the warm up, still had the nerves in my stomach, but I take these as a positive and use them to keep me sharp!

The preparation for the opening ceremony.

The preparation for the opening ceremony.

The participants

The participants

The opening ceremony

The opening ceremony

The guest star. Yu Jin Seong (Korea) and Terence Cheung (Singapore). They are so amazing and talented!

The guest star. Terence Cheung (Singapore) and Yu Jin Seong (Korea). They are so amazing and talented!

DAY 1

The First Category: Freestyle Slide

Ara, my junior team member.

Ara, my junior team member.

IMG_4750

IMG_4828   IMG_4841

Roller Universe Freestyle Team from Bandung. I love that uniform!

Roller Universe Freestyle Team from Bandung. I love those uniforms!

 

The Second Category: Pair Slalom

Clown!!!

Clown!!!

Warming up before pair slalom category. Nervous!

Warming up before pair slalom category. My boyfriend became my partner. Nervous!

Photo by Inline Skate Semarang

Photo by Inline Skate Semarang

Photo by Inline Skate Semarang

Photo by Inline Skate Semarang

Photo by Inline Skate Semarang

Photo by Inline Skate Semarang

Photo by Inline Skate Semarang

Photo by Inline Skate Semarang

Photo by Inline Skate Semarang

Photo by Inline Skate Semarang

Photo by Inline Skate Semarang

Photo by Inline Skate Semarang

 

There was a few great moments during our performance where I saw the judges watching us and smiling. The fact they were reacting to us, was awesome.  Yay!  I wasn’t boring (at least not all the time lol). Anyways, that was a real win for me. ^^

 

The Third Category: Classic Slalom

Nazwa

Nazwa

Frisca

Frisca

Gayuh and swan trick.

Gayuh and swan trick.

IMG_5183

IMG_5187

IMG_5192

I barely remember being out on the competition floor and what I did, other than the fact that I enjoyed every second of it. 😀

My boyfriend with his rock n roll concept for classic slalom.

My boyfriend with his rock n roll concept for classic slalom.

Bagas, my team member.

Bagas, my team member.

Nando, skater from Bandung. Young, talented and charming. Oh .. and he was the champion for classic slalom senior men category. >.<

Nando, skater from Bandung. Young, talented and charming. Oh .. and he was the champion for classic slalom senior men category. >.<

 

The fourth Category: Speed Slalom

Iren from RUFT Bandung

Iren from RUFT Bandung

Gasya from Fusion Bandung

Gasya from Fusion Bandung

Angel from Joglos Yogyakarta

Angel from Joglos Yogyakarta

Goodbay day 1, welcome day 2 …

 DAY 2

The Fifth Category: Skate Cross

IMG_5474

Bon courage Gayuh!

Bon courage Gayuh!

Go go go Athaya !

Go go go Athaya !

IMG_5521

 Done!!

The next rundown was the closing ceremony + awarding!!!

The experience of going to a competition could not have been any more amazing. I couldn’t have wished for it to be better! I wouldn’t have known what to wish for! This was simply perfect: going in there without expectations, not knowing at all what it would be like, free from knowing what it “should” be like, how I “should” stack up against anyone, who is who in the industry and, how the judges do their thing…I was surprisingly calm about the competition itself. I was not scared about competing. I was not concerned with anyone else’s performance. What I could not shut up about was how excited I was to be there. 

Mr. Ganjar Pranowo, the governor of Central Java.

Mr. Ganjar Pranowo, the governor of Central Java. I think he is handsome. hehe

The closing ceremony.

The closing ceremony.

IMG_5869

IMG_5870

IMG_5872

So .. how about the result?

From 5 categories, I won 2 of them; 2nd place classic slalom senior women and 3rd place freestyle pair slalom!!!

IMG_6022

IMG_6027

I got my silver medal. ^^

I got my silver medal. ^^

Me and my boyfriend as the third winner pair slalom category. Yay!

Me and my boyfriend as the third winner pair slalom category. Yay!

I had a whole lot of fun, and learned a ton about myself.  Much will be explored deeper in the coming weeks and this I know – it is time for change.  It is time to grow.  I’m excited!

IMG_6038

IMG_5980

IMG_6005

Congrats Gentha!

Congrats Gentha!

The judges and official team

The judges and official team

All these achievements came with struggles. I trained myself every evening which is probably 6 pm onwards till maximum 10 pm and often turn off at 12 am or later.

My medal, I am amazed that I was able to accomplish this. I have come so far this year.

My medals, I am amazed that I was able to accomplish this. I have come so far this year.

And the best part was … MY TEAM WON THE BEST TEAM CATEGORY! ! ! Yay!*proud

competition is a roller coaster.  I’m glad I stayed on for the entire ride, and as you can tell, it all ended well.  I’m quite motivated and ready to make some decisions about where I want my skating to go.

IMG_5809

Competition is fun and tough. I would like to thank all the team members for being part of my life especially those who tried their best to assist in my training.

IMG_5647

IMG_5649

IMG_5706

IMG_5742

IMG_5611

IMG_5729

I treasure my time with my friends, and love seeing amazing skater.  I got recognized, in many ways, I met new friends. It’s been a great experience. Alhamdulillah … Thanks Allah. I reached my goals for this year. This is the perfect time to reflect on what I have done, celebrate the achievement, and then set the next course of action.

So this is where I am right now. I feel like I have become a better athlete because of it. Not sure what’s next up for me. It’s a great feeling to have your hand lifted knowing that your hard work has paid off! I have to say, I feel really good right now. I feel fit, I feel healthy, and I feel accomplished.

I’m excited by my progress and looking forward to see just how far I can take it. This week is super exciting! Everyday has a new change and so I’m keeping really busy and looking forward to the variety.

I’m ready to grow, work, change.  😀

Leave a Reply

