My Kind of Evening Snacks

Do you like snacking in the evening?

I usually work out in the evening, so when I get home and I’m hungry, I’ll reach into the fridge, grab any kind of food that could fulfill my tummy monster. Sometime I also made an instant noodle. I try limiting to eat an instant noodle since that’s unhealthy food. So, recently I thought I should eat healthy food even for snack time! Yep, that’s what I thought.

I love combining fiber and protein like boiled vegetables plus chicken nuggets or eggs.  I also add some raw vegetables to make my menu healthier like tomato, cucumber or avocado. Fresh vegetables and fruits still my favorite.

Got some fresh avocados this week and decided to utilise those before they get too mashy.  As Avocados are highly nutritious and have numerous health benefits, its wiser to include them in our regular food items as much as possible. :D

One of my menu: Chicken nugget, tomatoes and avocados. Oh .. I got some fresh avocados this week and decided to utilise those before they get too mashy. As Avocados are highly nutritious and have numerous health benefits, its wiser to include them in our regular food items as much as possible. 😀

Protein is filling and takes longer to digest than carbohydrates, so any snack you eat should be small.

A soup of vegetables and fried Tempe were also my favorite menu. Most of my snack recipes are the quick kind and I like to get in and out of the kitchen as soon as possible, especially when I am deep frying and it’s so hot in the kitchen! hahaha

DSC09837

DSC09840

Do you notice I still eat fried meals? I know that’s not totally healthy, but I eat on small amount.

People usually add some cheese, sauce, or mayonnaise etc. to make it tastier. But I don’t. I eat for healthy reason, not just about it taste good or not in my tongue. So basically I don’t use too much seasoning, I keep it simple. Sometimes I just add a pinch of salt and pepper because I love pepper very much.

Many of us snack on things late at night because our brain tells us we have a sudden desire to eat something. This can often be due to blood sugar levels or even just watching something on TV that gets our cravings going. I’ve found that these feelings are instant and usually send us straight to the fridge. But the feeling is equally short-lived.

If you can hold that thought and just wait 15 minutes, you’ll find that invariably that strong desire to eat is gone. It’s worked for me and I’ve since read studies showing this to be true. Good choices for late night snacks are something healthy and light enough to be digested before bedtime. If you are hungry eat, but choose wisely.

Do you have favorite menu for snacking in the evening?

 

*Tempe is a traditional soy product originally from Indonesia. It is made by a natural culturing and controlled fermentation process that binds soybeans into a cake form, similar to a very firm vegetarian burger patty – Wikipedia

2 thoughts on “My Kind of Evening Snacks

Leave a Reply

