What I Like, Love, and Hate About Social Media

Today I’ll be writing a blog post about the things I love and hate about social media. This should be interesting.

I like how I can, with a click of a few buttons, message someone on the other side of the world without it taking days or years, depending on if they’re online and if your connection great, it’s almost instant. It’s scary how we’ve gone from waiting weeks and months on end for a reply to a letter of for your messenger to come back and now it’s instantaneous. Its amazing how much more power and control we have over things that back in the day they didn’t used to have.

I love how I connect with people like the way I can connect with my readers, I would spill my heart out and I’ve probably at least got someone out there reading my posts who understands the way I feel. I love the mysteriousness of being able to connect with people I’ve never met before without it putting me in an inch of danger. Especially as I can do this anonymously, could you have written something and put it up somewhere for everyone to see about your feelings and passions anonymously, 100 years ago? Probably not.

Umm…the internet is one scary fast moving thing.

I love how people can put content on the internet or social media which can truly change people’s life whether that’s with advice or general fundraising to save people’s lives!

I hate how I’m scared of seeing unpleasant comments or messages that could be sent or aimed at me whether it’s to my online self or virtual self. I’d hate to be one of the people who’d be targetted at for being disliked or judged because of a certain action I took.

I hate how I’ve grown up in a generation where it’s normal to be scrolling down YouTube comments or blogger comments and see hateful and hurtful comment written on peoples’s pages or posts. Yes, most lovely comments may outweigh the horrible ones, but which type of comment do you think would be mostly likely to affect you?

I know for sure that bad cinema could stick in my mind all day. What I’m mostly scared of and hate the fact that I have completely no idea where the internet is heading in future and if it’s actually going to be a good idea for the world to participate in.

 

 

Leave a Reply

