Le Dimanche

It’s 2.30 pm and I burried under a cocoon of blankets on my bed, laptop in prime position, my fingers tapping away as the light starts to dim a little. My eyes intent on the screen, lost in my own world for what only seems like a moment.

To any outsider, sure; I’m wasting my day. But is living a huge part of my life online always a bad thing?

Obviously there’s no substitute for putting down our phones or laptops, and actually getting up and doing something with our day. Technology will never replace real human interaction, or the physical and emotional benefits of being productive away from a screen. But there is still a hell of a lot of good in using these screens to our advantage.

I’d like to simply remind some people that my heavy use of technology isn’t always wrong, and it doesn’t mean I’m living a life less fulfilling than yours. Yes today it seems like I’m doing ‘nothing’ just sitting here on a laptop. But I’ve used these past few hours to GET SHIT DONE. I’ve written a monthly financial statement I need to complete, I’ve spent at least 30 minutes repliying to emails with various companies for both personal and professional reasons. I’ve edited and written pieces for my blog and bla bla bla bla.

All in all. I’ve accomplished a lot today. A little reminder not to feel too bad if you’re glued to a screen all day, it doesn’t mean you aren’t busy/productive/doing awesome things. Just remember to talk to people, get fresh air every now and again yeah?

2 thoughts on “Le Dimanche

Leave a Reply

