Surround Yourself With People Who Challenge You

‘You need to associate with people that inspire you, people that challenge you to rise higher, people that make you better. Don’t waste your valuable time  with people that are not adding to your growth. Your destiny is too important.’ – Joel Osteen

I have been so richly blessed by connecting with positive peoples. The last few weeks I have been spending my time with very dear, old friends and experienced the joy of being challenged. I am very lucky to have friends who seem to be able to really lift my spirits and inspire me in every way. They ask the right questions, come up with good ideas and really make me think creatively.

So with whom do you like to hang around? A wonderful tool can be to map down all the people that you spend time with: friends, family, colleagues etc. Draw yourself, or your name on a piece of paper and start writing down people that you are surrounded by. Where do you put yourself? What do you notice when looking at this? What does the position of the people (besides, under or above you) mean? What can you learn from looking at the map? What does it tell you if more people are on the right? By asking yourself some questions you get very valuable insights which you can use to make more conscious choices.

Surrounding yourself with a strong group of people is one of the most important things that you can do. I tend to think that friendships can be like investments. This, “investment model of friendship” (which is honestly not as clinical as it sounds) goes as follows;

Investing in people takes time, energy and personal resources. Some investments are not going to pay off. But, if you invest wisely, it’s one of the most worthwhile investments that you can ever make. The dividends from these investments are limitless.

Authenticity, loyalty and unconditional love are three key characteristics of any close relationship in my life. My friendship circle may be incredibly diverse, but the amazing people that I keep close to me have these things in common.

Having a diverse group of friends stretches, inspires and broadens your mind and your world. From my experience, I have found it rings true that having a well-rounded group makes you a more well-rounded individu.

As always, looking forward to hear your insights!

Leave a Reply

