#BunTingStory: Our Wedding Journey

sketch-1475312761228

Hi everyone! After a LONGGGG wait, I’m super excited to be sharing my wedding story (photos and maybe videos?) with you and walk you through the day I got married! It’s a little belated considering I got married last month, but really, better late than never! hahaha

I spent the past two days reviewing the materials, organizing them, categorizing them, and shortlisting the ones I want to share with you guys. While it’s been one month since my wedding, just reviewing the photos and videos is instantly bringing back the memories. Feels just as if I got married yesterday with Iting and I’m just so excited to let you guys in on this special part of my life.

If you’re new here, perhaps you want to read these for background on how Iting and I met. Hubby and I met our second year in university. So yes, we are university sweethearts. We dated through university (where we ultimately went together). Seven years, that’s how long we’ve been with one another.

I got engaged four months before our wedding  in September 2016. The proposal was simple.

img_3247

13235463_10206358840475958_6821155261215517609_o

Our story had officially moved on to another stage, after seven years together. I had since been busy – at the same time happy and excited – with wedding arrangements and such. It was like a little girl’s dream come true.

That blissful feeling was overwhelming.

Now, let me show you.

I know it was my big day and that I should just indulge myself in all the attention but nah-uh. To have a sea load of eyes on me made me self-conscious and shy. I was actually shaking but I remember trying to smile as naturally as I could.

The real wedding for Javanese is quite complex but we try to make it simple yet still following the Muslim guidelines. The solemnization ceremony was held at my parent’s house, attended by relatives, neighbors and friends. The akad nikah (solemnization) is the most crucial moment in a Muslim marriage. As other belief and religion, each couples will get a bless and vows for their wedding. In Muslim, we call it as Akad Nikah. During the akad nikah, there must be two witnesses (two adult males or two adult male with two adult females) and Wali (bride’s father or male relative on the bride’s father side).

Yes, in one lafaz (saying), Iting made me his wife. Iting changed my title from single to married. From a Miss to a Mrs. We are husband and wife. It was the happiest moment of my life. All my nerves disintergrated. I am married! ALHAMDULILLAH!

Then, I salam-ed Iting for the first time as his wife and he kissed me on the forehead for the first time as my husband. Awawawawawa >.<

img_2492

My white kebaya for akad nikah. I fell in love with it the minute I saw it and knew this was the one. ♥

img_2514

The second outfit we had to select was a traditional Javanese kebaya that was for the panggih or temu ceremony. Panggih (means meeting) between a beautiful bride with bridegroom in front of a house.

img_2830

img_2846

I cried when I hugged my parents but didn’t sobbed horribly nor ruined my make-up like I’ve always feared (THANKFULLY!). Our outfits fitted us perfectly. My make-up was awesome. Our guests were happy. Food were more than enough to feed everyone and more and tasted super delish according to the guests.

img_2783

img_2786

img_2789

The last outfit was hot pink kebaya and silver suit for Iting. I giggled all the while seeing the man in a suit. But, he looks great. Absolutely love this metallic silver suit on the man!
He looks stunning, yes?

14352278_10207235273106226_2821100061984658397_o

We got married in my parent’s house. We picked a package from a bridal vendor and everything was simple, compared to what most couples deal with when it comes to wedding planning. I wanted the wonderful memories without all the stress. Not to say there wasn’t some stress, and there was still plenty of family drama, it was still a dream wedding.

It has been a looooong exhausting day but despite feeling shagged, I had so much fun! Having the right people as part of your wedding  team is important, and I am thankful for having such awesome people to work with.

img_2862

My pinky bridemaids

What a journey indeed. And yet, things might still be changing for us. Life is very fluid and new opportunities can surprise you.

Cheeerrrss!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

