I Have Started to Wear My Hijab, and I Hope, Really Hope, it Will Last Forever

img_20170218_085113-01

I can remember every moment of the day I first started wearing hijab . I can remember waking up early because I couldn’t contain the excitement I felt. I can remember the exact shade of my hijab fabric, and the way it felt tighter than I had expected. I can remember my husband’s smile, and the length of my parent’s hug. I can remember the way my husband asked me one last time if I was sure this was what I wanted. I can remember the conviction of my answer. And, of course, I can also remember the fear.

I always want to do it. Since many many years ago, I already have that feelings. But being a sport-lover, there are always millions and thousands excuses and reasons to block my intention to wear hijab. But deep inside my heart, I want to do it!

I want you to know that hijab will not stop you from anything you want to do in your life! You may have to work harder to find modest clothing for the occasion, but Allah will reward you for every struggle and is proudly watching as His slave strives to please Him.

How to start??

Before I started wearing hijab, thinking about all of the things that I thought I had to give up gave me anxiety. I thought of my passion for working out and living a healthy lifestyle. There are more and more excuses, such as, I don’t have pants, I don’t have proper clothes, etc etc etc.

Until yesterday night, when I reached home at about 6 pm, I took wudhu’, and perform my maghrib pray.

When I recite Al-fatihah, suddenly I cry. I was crying until the last part of pray, which is tahiyatulakhir and salam, my tears dropped and it falls non-stop. I just continue to zikr, pray and recite surah yasin. AND suddenly I think that there will be no more excuses, and there will be no more delay. I must start no matter what.

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَنِ الرَّحِيم
Bismi-llāhi r-raḥmāni r-raḥīm
In the name of God, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

I have decided. As of 17/2/2017, I have started to wear my hijab, and I hope, really hope, it will last forever. Aamiin.

May Allah SWT make hijab easy for all of us and reward us for our efforts. ❤

XOXO, Heni

3 thoughts on “I Have Started to Wear My Hijab, and I Hope, Really Hope, it Will Last Forever

  1. Alhamdulillah 🙂 selamat datang di geng hijrah hehe. Insha Allah di lancarkan proses adaptasinya dan istiqomah yaa aamiiin. selalu seneng denger cerita teman yang baru hijrah 😀

Leave a Reply

