Thoughts On Turning 27

 

4 days ago I turned 27 years old. CRAP. I am old. I am officially in my upper-mid-20s. Not my upper 20s. There is a difference, darn it. I am now far closer to 30 than I am to 21. (Major sad face).

I took a bit of a social media break whilst I was away, choosing to enjoy spending time with family rather than obsessing over what was happening on social media. I find it all too easy to become overwhelmed by what everyone else is doing, how they seem to be training more, having more fun, be happier,  have more travel experiences etc.

I believe that with every birthday, you have the chance to start over again. You can make it your own ‘new year’, so this year I’ll be focusing on enjoying the things I have, working on the things that are important to me and cultivating my relationships. I’m not where I thought I’d be at this age, but where I am is pretty darn good. I feel happy to be making a career change to do something I feel really passionate about, and I love having this little blog to chat with you guys. I’ve got some big decisions to make new project. I want to be an entrepreneur! If there’s anything this current situation has taught me, it’s that If I can make money my own entrepreneurial way, I will never be unemployed, and some plans to lay down. Wish me luck!

Some of my words of wisdom (if we can call them that) from my 27 years…I know I know…I realize the irony of my post. Reading about life lessons from someone who has (hopefully) only lived about a quarter of their life is ridiculous. However, over the last year I’ve figured out a lot about myself and where I want to go with my life. I wanted to document it for myself, so why not share it with you?  These are all are subject to change and some of them even slightly contradict each other, but after 27-years of life, here’s where I’m at…

 

1. It’s never too late to change your life

Reflect regularly. Think about where you are, where you’re headed, and where you want to be. Do they all match up? Great! If not, it’s not going to happen on its own. Make a change today, right now.

2. Smiling makes you and others around you happier

Make smiling your default expression.

3. If you want to do something, you’ll find time

I would say that you to follow what your heart wants you to do. So you will not have regrets later on in life.

4. Care what you think, not what others think

Surround yourself with kind people. Never have anyone negative around all the time. A short input of negativity is good though.

5. Set goals – not succeeding is better than not trying

Make plans. 1 month, 6 month, 1 year, 3 year, 5 years, 7 years, 12 years, 21 years, lifetime. Set goals. Live like it’s the last day of your life, but plan ahead for another 100 years.

6. Save Money, Live Modestly

Creating a large savings nest was the best decision I made through my cubicle years. It’s given me immense amount of freedom to travel and now try to start a company of my own (COMING SOON…STILL ON PROGRESS!). More and more I think I should play it safe with my savings and take risks where I have direct control (my own business ventures).

7. Small decisions over time have big impact (savings, hygiene, progress towards goals)

Have confidence in yourself and your ideas. Make mistakes and accept imperfection.
It’s been a long, tumultuous year of convincing myself that it’s a worthwhile dream to pursue. I’m finally learning to live for myself, rather than live a life dictated by others’ expectations.  I still need to work on not letting my fears hold me back, but it’s getting there.

I have a great feeling that 27 is going to be an outstanding year. Less than 3 months from now, I will be celebrating one year of marriage with Iting and I foresee us embarking on even more incredible adventures together.

You can say that the late-twenties is an age of realization and self-discovery.  I guess in that way, turning 27 is not such a bad thing after all. CHEEEERRRSSS!

Leave a Reply

